2019-2020 Election

Election Results

The election for the 2019-2020 Data Storage Technical Committee officers is completed. The new officers are:

  • Shayan Srinivasa Garani, Chair
  • Hironori Uchikawa, Vice-Chair from Industry
  • Xinmiao Zhang, Vice-Chair from Academia
  • Jeongseok Ha, Secretary
  • Seyhan Karakulak, Treasurer

Election Procedure

The DSTC elects officers every two years for two-year terms. Below is the list of candidates for the 2019-2020 term, along with their biography and position statements. The election procedure is detailed in the Policies and Procedures.

Voting is restricted to DSTC active members (also called voting members), to whom voting instructions will be sent by email. There are 33 active members as of October 2016.


  • November 26, 2018 Voting directions emailed to voting members, and voting begins.
  • December 7, 2018 Election deadline for active members to submit votes.
  • December 12, 2018 Election results announced at DSTC meeting at Globecom in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Candidates and Statements


Shayan Srinivasa Garani, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

Shayan Srinivasa Garani

Candidate Statement I have been an active researcher in the field of data storage for over more than a decade, focusing on all channels engineering for two-dimensional magnetic storage, 3D NAND flash and holography. I have made many important contributions to this field. As DSTC chair, I will continue to strengthen the activities at ICC/Globecom, best paper awards,  JSAC special issues and bring increased synergies between industry and academia. I have served as a vice-chair for IEEE DSTC, co-chaired the awards committee. Being well versed with the policies of DSTC, I hope to lead and strengthen this society further.

Vice-Chair from Industry

Hironori Uchikawa, Toshiba Memory Corporation

Hironori Uchikawa

Candidate Statement I have worked for twelve years on flash-based data storage systems, in particular, LDPC code design and decoding algorithms in both industry and academia. I have developed several VLSI hardware of error correcting codes for flash memories. If given the opportunity to serve this role, I will enhance the visibility of the Data Storage Technical Committee in industry. I would also like to have more researchers from data storage companies participate to collaborate with academia.

Vice-Chair from Academia

Xinmiao Zhang, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA

Xinmiao Zhang

Candidate Statement: I have more than fifteen years of experience on data storage, in particular, error-correcting coding and signal processing for data storage, in both academia and industry. I developed a number of VLSI architectures that brought down the complexities of non-binary LDPC and soft-decision Reed-Solomon and BCH codes by more than an order of magnitude. My recent contributions also include coding schemes and their efficient implementation architectures for distributed storage.
I am the Vice-Chair from Industry of the DSTC for the 2017-2018 term, and I serve as the Chair of the Data Storage Track of ICC 2019. I changed my career path back to academia recently. I would like to continue my contribution to the DSTC. In particular, I will work on increasing the visibility of the DSTC and facilitating the collaboration between academia and industry.


Jeongseok Ha Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea

Jeognseok Ha

Candidate Statement I would like to run for the position of Secretary of Data Storage Technical Committee (DSTC). I am currently an associate professor at Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea. I would like to make contributions to DSTC as a secretary.

I have more than more than ten years’ experience on investigating advanced coding techniques for storage devices using non-volatile memories and magnetic mediums. In my technical career, I have published more than 80 journal and conference papers and more than 30 US and Korea patents. I have been actively attending most of the DSTC meetings in ICC and GLOBECOM. I served on the 2015 DSTC awards committee as a co-chair and currently, I am serving DSTC as a secretary.

My recent contributions for DSTC and IEEE are listed as follows:

  • IEEE member for 13 years
  • Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members
  • IEEE International Communications Conference (ICC) 2013 – 2018
  • IEEE GLOBECOM 2011 – 2018
  • Co-chair of 2016 – 2017 DSTC awards committee

I hereby pledge to serve DSTC by putting continuous effort to support various events of DSTC in collaboration with other officers of DSTC. I would appreciate your support and vote.


Seyhan Karakulak, Western Digital

Seyhan Karakulak

Candidate Statement I have thirteen years of cumulative industry and research experience in the areas of system architecture for solid- state storage devices, information theory, communication theory, error correction coding, signal processing, machine learning, and statistical learning for magnetic recording and solid-state storage systems. I have been involved with several projects as a system architect that resulted in successful ASIC implementations. I would like to serve DSTC as a treasurer.